E.U.-Schuman Challenge

The Schuman Challenge is an annual foreign affairs contest for undergraduate students in the United States to present and defend transatlantic policy initiatives before transatlantic experts. Organized by the Delegation of the European Union to the United States, teams of three undergraduates led by a faculty mentor compete on a different theme each year. Senior EU and US diplomats, famous reporters and think tank leaders judge the competition. The competition is typically held in the spring in Washington, D.C. with the topic announced at the beginning of the year.

Schuman Challenge

The Weiser Diplomacy Center (WDC) nominates a group of Ford School/U-M undergraduate students to participate in the Schuman Challenge, and represent U-M at the competition in Washington, D.C.  For more information about competition themes, please visit the E.U. Delegation website.


Ford School and U-M undergraduate students.

How to apply

During Winter term, WDC issues a Call for Applications—including specific application requirements and deadlines to the Ford School/U-M community. 


If you have any questions regarding this opportunity, please email [email protected].

U-M team at EU Schuman Challenge 2021

EU Schuman Challenge

U-M team in 2022

2022 EU Schuman challenge theme focus: "How should the EU and U.S. cooperate in Afghanistan following the U.S. military withdrawal". Led by Hayden Jackson PhD Candidate, Political Science, Will Kielm (Ford School), Charles "Trevor" Cross and
Subhamitra Roychoudhury (both LS&A students) represented the U-M in Washington, D.C.
2022 competition

EU Schuman Challenge

Ford School team second in 2020

The 2020 competition focused on EU and U.S. responses to China’s alternative models of governance. Led by Associate Professor Ann Lin, Ford School's undergraduate students Bryce Brannen, Molly Kalb, and Karuna Nandkumar won a wonderful second place in this virtual competition.

Watch final round of competition